faith

What the Heck am I Going to Read in 2018?

In recent days, I have felt a push to take control of my education to a certain extent and to take responsibility for how informed I am. In addition to blogs, shows, articles and podcasts, I will actually read a book….or 12.

 

I feel that every year, I tell myself I am going to read a book a month. I cannot tell you how many years I have completely FAILED at this goal. I mostly fail because I have failed to plan for such a task. It will be no easy feat, but nonetheless, I am up for the challenge. This list may change, because I am getting lots of book suggestions and am even seeing what others are reading. But I had a few books in my house that I wanted to read, and a few on my radar that I decide to invest in. so the current list is as follows:

c55dd8dfa161a21809213a43e9535654

  1. Emotionally Healthy Spirituality – Peter Scazzero.
  2. The Four Loves – S. Lewis
  3. When I Was Puerto Rican – Esmeralda Santiago
  4. Mere Christianity – S. Lewis
  5. One Nation Under God: The Triumph of the Native American Church – Huston Smith & Rueben Snake
  6. The Problem of Pain – C.S. Lewis
  7. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without me? (And Other Concerns) – Mindy Kaling
  8. Erasing Hell – Francis Chan & Preston Sprinkle
  9. The Heart of Racial Justice – Brenda Salter McNeil & Rick Richardson
  10. Don’t Waste Your Life – John Piper
  11. Justice While Black: Helping African-American Families Navigate and Survive the Criminal Justice System – Robbin Shipp, Esq. & Nick Chiles
  12. Crazy Love – Francis Chan – I’ve read some of it but I would like to finish it
  13. *Safe Haven – Nicholas Spark

 

Now, the goal is to read all of them in a year, but I will not necessarily make it a law to read one a month. I may read multiple books at a time, and others I may read alone. THAT is something I have not quite figured out yet. But I’m EXCITED!!!!!!!!!

 

2018: the year of the up and up

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.